Animal Flight Laboratory

People in the Laboratory

Professor Robert Dudley

Professor Robert Dudley

Working with....
email: wings@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555
Post-docs

PhD Victor M. Ortega Jimenez

My research interest at UC Berkeley is to evaluate the flight abilities of hummingbirds on complex fluids, like rain or Kármán vortices produced by an air flow passing through a tree trunk.
email: vortega@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555

PhD Nir Sapir

My work deals with hummingbird flight biomechanics using metabolic measurements and body and especially wingbeat kinematics.
email: nir.sapir@mail.huji.ac.il
Phone: 510-642-1555

PhD Marta Wolf

Evolution and aerodynamics of flight in stick insects, Phasmatodea.
email: marta.wolf@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555
Graduate Students

Marc Badger

I am interested in how morphology allows organisms to perform as well as they do, and in using details of locomotion to illuminate their behavior and ecology.
email: mbadger@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555

Dennis Evangelista

I am surveying various potential thesis topics involving fluid mechanics and biology.
email: devangel@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555

Erica Kim

Working with....
email: e.kim@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555

Yu Zeng

My current focuses cover the biomechanics, ecology and evolution of flight and other controlled aerial behaviors (e.g. directed aerial descent and aerial righting) in stick insects, conducted through a combination of lab work in UC Berkeley and fieldwork in tropical SE Asia.
email: dreavoniz@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-1555
Undergraduates

Sofia Chang

Working with....
email: swchang@berkeley.edu

Angela Chuang

Angela Chuang is a 3rd year Molecular Environmental Biology student who is interested in entomology and is studying the defense tactics of phasmid nymphs.
email: angelachuang@berkeley.edu

Camile Gonzales

I am an integrative biology major interested in studying the morphology of the wings in stick insects.
email: cggonzales@berkeley.edu

Chandni Kazi

Currently I am working on the ontogeny and morphology in two stick insects, Extatosoma tiaratum and Sipyloidea sipylus.
email: ck@berkeley.edu

Kenrick Lam

I am working on the biomechanics of aerial righting behavior in larval stick insects with Yu Zeng.
email: kenjility@gmail.com

Sehoon Park

I am a second year Integrative Biology major and my research consists of identifying and comparing the pterothoracic muscles of stick insects.
email: parksehoon@berkeley.edu

Stephanie Rotter

Stephanie Rotter is a 3rd year Materials Science and Engineering Major focusing on biomaterials.
email: stephanie.a.rotter@gmail.com

Vicky Zhuang

Working with....
email: mz.aerochild@gmail.com

Animal Flight Laboratory, March 2011